Beethoven Comes to the Beach continues with Symphony No. 8

share this:

symphony-beethovenMaestro Enrique Arturo Diemecke and the Long Beach Symphony Orchestra continue the 2009-2010 “Beethoven Comes to the Beach” season on Saturday, January 16, when the orchestra performs Beethoven’s Symphony No. 8 in F Major.   Also on the program: Handel’s Royal Fireworks Music and Dvorák’s Symphony No. 9, “From the New World.”

All LBSO Classics Concerts take place at the Long Beach Performing Arts Center in the Terrace Theater, 300 East Ocean Blvd. in Long Beach. Concerts begin at 8 p.m. A pre-concert lecture hosted by KUSC-FM personality Alan Chapman begins at 7 p.m. for ticketed patrons,  and offers entertaining insights into the evening’s repertoire.

Tickets start at $18. For more information, call 562-436-3203, or visit

Beethoven Comes to the Beach

This concert, part of LBSO’s 2009-2010 “Beethoven Comes to the Beach” season, is the third of six Classics Concerts in a season that features all nine Beethoven symphonies as well as other major classical works.

“I’m pleased to start 2010 with three wonderful works by a trio of classical music’s most popular composers,” says Diemecke. “We begin the concert with symphonic fireworks in the form of Handel’s Royal Fireworks Music, followed by Beethoven’s brilliant Symphony No. 8. We conclude the concert with Dvorák’s masterful Symphony No. 9, From the New World. ”

About the Music

Handel’s Royal Fireworks Music: Handel composed his five-movement suite in 1779 at the behest of King George II of Great Britain to celebrate the end of a war and signing of a treaty. While intended as background music to a fireworks display in London’s Green Park, Handel’s coruscating composition was actually more spectacular than the pyrotechnics.

Beethoven’s Symphony No. 8 in F major: The Eighth is Beethoven’s shortest symphony, lasting all of 26 minutes. Beethoven composed this symphony in 1812 at the age of 42. It premiered two years later alongside Symphony No. 7. Perhaps in a moment of whimsy, the composer included a metronome among the work’s instruments. He also called for the timpani to be tuned in octaves—a first in the classical repertoire.

Dvorák’s Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”: Dvorák composed his famous Ninth Symphony during an extended visit to America in the late 1800s. Premiered at Carnegie Hall in 1893, the piece reflected Dvorák’s fascination with the culture of the “New World”, especially Native American music and African American spirituals. It was a huge success met with exuberant clapping and cheering.

The Long Beach Symphony Orchestra is proud to have Lexus as its 2009-2010 Classic Season sponsor.

Comments are closed.