Councilman Dee Andrews Appoints 2014 Peace Week Committee Chairs

share this:
Sixth District Councilman Dee Andrews - Photo from Facebook

Sixth District Councilman Dee Andrews – Photo from Facebook

Councilman Dee Andrews appoints community advocate Alma Campos as the 2014 Peace Week Committee Chair and Belinda Perez as Peace Week Committee co-Chair

In an effort to lift the consciousness of the community about Dr. King’s legacy and principles, Councilman Dee Andrews created Peace Week to promote more than a week of activities designed to unify the community. Among the week of events is the Annual Candlelight Peace March that brings the community together to promote the increase of peace throughout our neighborhoods.

Each year Councilman Andrews appoints community members to serve on the Peace Week Committee, as well as partnering with local organizations to assist with creating and producing the events. Alma Campos was selected as Peace Week Chair for her involvement in the community and Peace Week since its conception 7 years ago. She moved to the City of Long Beach in 1996 after meeting her husband, Aroldo Campos. The mother of 4 children started servicing her community by volunteering. Alma and her husband are the founders of New Generations, a local nonprofit that serves the youth, and a day care to help mothers take care of their children.

Councilman Andrews appointed the Peace Week Co-Chair position to Belinda Perez. Born on the island of Puerto Rico, this Latina business woman ultimate purpose in life is “helping thy neighbor”. Her biggest focus is helping women find their true worth. She is the mother of four children and her philanthropic endeavors include hosting frequent breakfast events for women of different backgrounds. In an attempt to help the growing community, she sponsors conferences for couples and youth and is involved in community programs including the Anti-Virus Program, Round Tables, and New Generation. She and her husband founded the Leadership Academy, the Academy for Entrepreneurs, and other organizations for the community of Long Beach.

Additional selected Peace Week Committee members include; Vergia Wade, Jose Flores, Alice Robinson, Rebecca Younger, Francisco Rodriguez, Tonya Martin, Stacey Christiansen, Tony Pope, Teresa Gomez, Alejandro Lopez, Monique San, Sony Pream, Chanthy Yi, Michael L. Dixon, Jeanetta McAlpin, Jeffrey Arago, Art Cribbs, Kianna Shann, Meyra Salas, Cecliea Salas, and Brenda Salas.

Comments are closed.