DLBA Welcomes New Leaders: 2014-2015 Board of Directors and Executive Committee Announced

share this:

DLBA - Downtown Long Beach Associates

The Downtown Long Beach Associates (DLBA) announced the new Board of Directors for the 2014-2015 Fiscal Year today, including Executive Committee and non-voting advisory members.

“Looking around the room at our first Board of Directors meeting, I was so impressed by the individuals who have committed to dedicate their time to the DLBA,” shared Hilda Sanchez, Board Chair. “I’m ready to roll up my sleeves and get to work on making our Downtown a more inviting place for businesses, residents and visitors.”

Among the Executive Committee members elected was Michelle Molina, Managing Director at Millworks, who will serve at the Chair-elect. In this role, Molina will serve as the Chair of the Board Development Committee, which is charged with recruiting new Committee and Board members.

“More than 60 individuals volunteer their time on the Board or on a Committee,” added Molina. “It is the combination of talents, backgrounds and expertise of this group that make DLBA so effective.”

In May, the DLBA reached out to the Downtown community and solicited nominations for the elected Board positions. A slate of candidates was approved by the Board of Directors on August 20, sent to 4,732 Downtown stakeholders for approval, and ratified by the Executive Committee on September 4. On October 1, non-voting advisors were approved and the Executive Committee was elected. On October 8, the Executive Committee met and elected Officers. The following positions were adopted on October 1 and 8:

Executive Committee
Chair: Hilda Sanchez, Minuteman Press, DPIA North Pine
Chair-elect: Michelle Molina, Millworks, PBID Standard
Past Chair: Richard Lewis, JR Van Dijs, DPIA East Village
Secretary: Cameron Andrews, Pier Communications, DPIA Pine
Treasurer: David Cannon, PBID Residential Representative
City Representative: Mike Conway, City of Long Beach
EC Member: Toliver Morris, Manulife Properties, PBID Premium

Advisors (non-voting appointment)
Jerry Schubel, Aquarium of the Pacific
Steve Sheldon, Queen Mary
Brian Ulaszewski, City Fabrick
Paul Barry, Mental Health America-LA
Alan Burks, Environ Architecture
The following Board members were ratified on September 4:

Slate of Voting Directors
PBID Premium: Julia Huang*, Intertrend
PBID Premium: Ken McDonald, Long Beach Transit
PBID Premium: James Stephenson, Cohn Restaurant Group
PBID Standard: Michelle Molina*, Millworks
PBID Standard: Ryan Altoon, Anderson Pacific
PBID Standard: Silvano Merlo, Courtyard Marriott
DPIA West Gateway: Justin Hectus, Keesal Young & Logan

Appointment of Residential Representative
Derek Burnham, Downtown Resident from First Council District

These newly installed community members will be joined by the following individuals, who return to serve on the Board in 2014-2015:

Downtown Parking Improvement Area (DPIA) Representatives
Rose Barrantes, Waterfront

Property Based Improvement District (PBID) Representatives
Gregg Anderson, Anderson Paint & Hardware, Standard

Appointed Directors At-Large
Cindy Allen, ETA Advertising
Joen Garnica, Garnica Interiors
Linda Guthmann-Krieger, Krieger and Krieger Law

Downtown Residential Representative
Lauren Haverlock, Downtown Resident from Second Council District

Advisors and Honorary (non-voting appointments)
Diane Arnold, Honorary
Lou Anne Bynum, LBCC, Advisor
Don Darnauer, Downtown Resident, Honorary
Nick Edwards, Queen Beach Printers, Honorary
Councilmember Lena Gonzalez, 1st Council District, Advisor
Vice Mayor Dr. Suja Lowenthal, 2nd Council District, Advisor
Mary Stephens, CSULB, Advisor

The Board of Directors meets on the third Wednesday in even numbered months, while the Executive Committee meets monthly on the first Thursday. In compliance with the Brown Act, all DLBA Board and Committee meetings are open to the public and welcome members of the community who wish to attend and participate.

For more information about the DLBA, please call (562) 436-4259 or visit www.downtownlongbeach.org .

Comments are closed.