LBCC District Board of Trustees Elect New President, Evaluates and Reconfirms Goals

share this:

lbcc - Long Beach City College 85th anniversary

Former Long Beach City Council member and Long Beach City College (LBCC) Alumni Hall of Fame inductee Jeff Kellogg was elected President of the Long Beach Community College District (LBCCD) Board of Trustees at the July 23 meeting of the governing board. Former Mayor Dr. Tom Clark was elected Vice President. Their terms run through July 22, 2014.

Kellogg was first elected to the College’s Board of Trustees in 2002. He was re-elected in 2006 and 2010 and continues to represent the northwest portion of the College’s District. Dr. Clark is currently serving his fourth term in office for LBCCD after a renowned career in public office as Long Beach City Councilman and Mayor. They were both elected unanimously by fellow trustees Mark Bowen, Doug Otto and Roberto Uranga, who served as president of the board for 2012-13, a challenging year of continued reduction in state funding and the elimination of some college programs.

“During the past twelve months, Trustee Uranga represented himself in a manner that demonstrates the very best of LBCC and he did so during the most difficult of times,” Kellogg said. “I am proud to call him a colleague, a friend and a member of the LBCC family.” LBCC Superintendent-President Eloy Ortiz Oakley also commended Uranga for his work as Board President, presenting him with an award thanking him for “keeping the mission of Long Beach City College front and center.”

“As I begin my term as Trustee President, I look forward to working with all segments of the college community as we prepare for our accreditation visit and the opportunity to demonstrate why LBCC is regarded as a leader among community colleges not only in California but throughout the nation,” Kellogg said. The lifelong resident of the Bixby Knolls/Los Cerritos area of Long Beach also hopes to help shepherd the College into offering programs in new areas such as cyber security and technology that reflect emerging “green” industries and the opportunities they present for the College, local businesses and LBCC students.

The five Trustees held a day-long public retreat to evaluate and reconfirm their goals on July 23. Goals include:

1. Support the Student Success agenda by:

  • Implementing the Educational Master Plan
  • Implementing the Promise Pathways Program
  • Expanding the Long Beach City College Promise

2. Support the Career Technical Education Workforce Development and Economic Development agendas to strengthen the regional economy by:

  • Implementing and expanding programs to serve small business development
  • Implementing the Goldman Sachs 10,000 Small Businesses Initiative
  • Organizing a local economic development summit

3. Allocate resources in a manner that prioritizes these Board Goals

More information on the Long Beach Community College District Board of Trustees can be located at

About Long Beach City College
Long Beach City College is one of the largest single college districts in the California Community College System. LBCC is a comprehensive college which provides quality educational programs and related students services to nearly 30,000 students pursuing a wide range of degrees, certificates, transfer and other courses of study. LBCC is recognized throughout California and the nation as a leader in efforts to improve college preparation, access and success through the Long Beach College Promise Partnership, with the Long Beach Unified School District and California State University, Long Beach, and its Promise Pathways initiative. The College has received several important recognitions including: finalist for the 2013 Exemplary CEO/Board Award of Excellence from the American Association of Community Colleges, winner of the 2012 RP Group’s Excellence in College Research Award for development of a predictive placement model, recognition by the White House Initiative for Excellence in Hispanic Education in 2010 and recipient of the California Community College Chancellor’s Office Student Success Award in 2009.

Comments are closed.