Honorees Named For the Long Beach Branch NAACP 32nd Founders Celebration Dinner and Awards Presentation

share this:

The Long Beach Branch NAACP has announced their 2011 32nd Founders Celebration Dinner & Awards Presentation to be held on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at the Long Beach Westin.

The 2011 Honorees are: Rosa Kelson to receive the Lillie V. Grigsby Award, Dr. Janice Filer to receive the Zelma A. Lipscomb Award, and Keith Lilly to receive the Ernest McBride, Sr. Award.

Ted Caruthers will receive the Humanitarian Award, Malia Islam-Majed will receive the Interfaith, Unity and Diversity Trailblazer Award, and Sharon and David McLucas will receive the Preserving African American History and Culture Award.

Long Beach Deputy City Manager Reginald Harrison will receive the Public Service Award, Eloy Oakley & Long Beach City College will receive the Education and Workforce Preparation Award, and St. Mary Medical Center – “Life Begins Here” Chilbirth Services will receive the Non-Profit Corporation Award.

The President’s Awards will be given to Dr. Kevin Johnson, Professor of Communications, CSULB, Chris Stevens, Director of Bands and Chairman of the Long Beach Poly Music Department, and Emily Pearson, President of the Long Beach NAACP Youth Council.

The NAACP  32nd Founders Celebration Dinner & Awards Presentation is Saturday, October 15, 2011 at the Long Beach Westin, 333 E. Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, California, The President’s Reception and Silent Auction begins at 5:30pm and the Program and Dinner starts at 7:00pm.

This signature event will generate funds for Long Beach Branch NAACP Branch Programs such as: the Academic, Cultural, Technological and Scientific Olympics (ACT-SO Program), Stay-in-School, Leadership Academy and Development Program, Scholar Dollars Program, Youth Wealth Empowerment Program, Non-Violent Conflict Resolution, Fit and Focus Camps, Discovery of the Arts, Talent Search and Development Program, Careers and Mentorship Program, Math and Science Collaboration (MESA) with CSULB, Law Day Program, Youth Entrepreneurs Program, and College Tuition Scholarship Program.

Event Sponsorship, auction items, Scholarship Sponsors are still needed and individual/corporate tickets are still available. You may contact Naomi Rainey at (562) 856-7586 or via email at mnaacp@gmail.com for additional information.

Comments are closed.