Mayor’s Trophy Charity Golf Tournament raises $29,000

share this:

long beach mayors trophy golf tournament

Long Beach Mayor’s Trophy Charity Golf Tournament proceeds will benefit Special Olympics Southern California & Long Beach Junior Golf Programs.

A full field of local golfers joined Long Beach Mayor Bob Foster, American Golf Chief Operating Officer Keith Brown and other local dignitaries and tournament sponsors at the Fifth Annual Long Beach Mayor’s Trophy Charity Golf Tournament presented by Titleist/FootJoy at Skylink Golf Course on Monday, July 19.

More than $29,000 was raised during the day’s activities, which included a golf demonstration by noted PGA professional and Virginia Country Club Chief Operation Officer Jamie Mulligan; a shotgun start tournament; a variety of on-course contests; live and silent auctions; and an awards dinner. The tournament was put on by American Golf, the City of Long Beach Department of Parks, Recreation & Marine and the non-profit American Golf Foundation.

Proceeds will benefits junior golf programs throughout the City of Long Beach, as well as Special Olympics Southern California under the leadership of President and CEO Bill Shumard. For more than 40 years, Special Olympics Southern California has empowered children and adults with intellectual disabilities to become physically fit, productive and respected members of society through sports training and competition.

Golf is one of 12  Special Olympics sports offered, providing numerous opportunities for advance competition. Special Olympics changes lives through the power of sports and reaches beyond the athletes who participate. The coaches, volunteers, families and donors all benefit from the opportunities that Special Olympics Souther California brings to their lives.

The winners of this year’s Mayor’s Trophy Golf Tournament were:

  • 1st Place Low Gross- Gordon Olson, Jim Gonzalez, Jerry Conn and Dan Gooch;
  • 1st Place Low Net – Andrew Basore, Cabel Parker, Ray Sneller and Derek Hood;
  • 2nd Place Low Gross – Carl Kemp, Bill Stansberry , Ed Berg and Haley Roger;
  • 2nd Place Low Net- Gene Rotondo, Mike Suarez, Brian  Travis and Danny Hudgins;
  • 3rd Place Low Gross- Matt Knabe, Ernesto Marquez, Al Espinoza and Octavio Marquez; and
  • 3rd Place Low Net – Larry Jackson, John Morris, Greg Bombard and Nusrat Mirza.

For sponsorship or entry information on the 2011 Long Beach Mayor’s Trophy, contact Cindy Elliott at (562)431-5962 or

Comments are closed.